The restoration of Australis Nathan was an ambitious construction project that saw two significant heritage buildings, Australis House and the Nathan building, joined internally to create a stunning new retail and commercial space.

Built in 1903 and 1904, the buildings originally served as warehouses and storefronts for influential importers and merchants, Andrew Entrican and Arthur Nathan. Since then, each has undergone several changes of ownership, but both have remained largely untouched since the 1970s. In May 2015 Cooper and Company and architects Peddle Thorp, under the guidance of Heritage New Zealand, began the painstaking process of restoration and refurbishment to create an impressive new mixed-use development at the edge of Britomart’s Takutai Square.

Throughout 2016 Australis Nathan welcomed international retailers Tiffany & Co. and Chanel to the ground floor, along with specialty chocolate makers Miann. The upper floors now serve as offices for several premium commercial tenants including lawyers Anderson Lloyd and the offices of retailer H&M, who enjoy expertly restored interiors, beautiful modern facilities and sweeping views of the city and harbour. In total, the development has brought more than 350 extra workers to the Britomart precinct.

Australis House and Nathan Building were the 12th and 13th heritage listed Britomart buildings from a total of 18 to be refurbished by Cooper and Company since 2004.

Find The Australis Nathan Buildings
33 – 37 Galway Street
Britomart
Auckland CBD

MORE LIKE THIS...

CPO Building

This magnificent city landmark has been fully restored and now provides a grand entranceway to the underground Britomart train . . .

Northern Steamship Company Building

These former shipping company offices are an important reminder of Auckland's maritime past.   Commissioned by the Northern Steamship . . .

Barrington Building

In 1903 the site where the Barrington Building now stands was leased by a German named Gustav Kronfeld. As […]

. . .

Masonic House

Built in 1885, Masonic House was one of the earliest buildings on the northern side of Customs Street. Designed . . .